Top 10 Largest States In Nigeria By Land Mass

What are the largest states in Nigeria by land mass?

If you are a Nigerian, you most likely already know how populous your country is. Nigeria is actually frequently referred to as the “Giant of Africa.” Nigeria, home to about 200 million people, is the most populous metropolis in Africa.

Given the number of people living there and the size of the ecosystems, you don’t need someone to tell you how big this country is. In order to facilitate identification and naming, Nigeria has been divided into 36 states, each with a different amount of land area.

In this article, we will be reviewing the top 10 largest states in Nigeria by land mass or area. Please pay attention as you’d need the information we are providing below.

Related: Top 10 Most Developed States in Nigeria

Largest States in Nigeria by Land Mass

The largest states in Nigeria by land mass are listed below:

1. Niger State

According to the total surface area, Niger State is the largest state in Nigeria. The overall area of this state’s land is 76 363 sq. km. In 1976, under the administration of General Muritala Mohammed, this state was established. The Kainji and Shiroro dams surround Niger State, which is situated in the centre of Nigeria.

The breathtaking Gurara Falls, Kainji National Park, Nigeria’s largest national park, Kainji Lake, the Borgu Game Reserve, and the Zugurma Game Reserve are just a few of the tourist attractions found in Niger State.

2. Borno State

Borno State is the second latest state in Nigeria by land mass. Borno State is divided into 27 Local Government Areas, which together cover a total area of 70,898 sq. km. Its capital is Maiduguri, and it was established in 1976 after the North-Eastern State was divided.

Read Also:  Wholesaling In Real Estate: Unbelievable Facts You Should Know

When Borno was first established, it had the largest landmass in all of Nigeria. Yobe State was removed from it in 1991, nevertheless, and as a result, the extent of the territory decreased from about 100,000 km2.

3. Taraba State

Following the 1991 formation from the previous Gongola State, Taraba, another state in northeast Nigeria, has the third-largest landmass in the nation, totalling 54,473 km². You can see how big this state is by the fact that it is home to nearly 2 million people.

Of the 774 local government areas in Nigeria, sixteen are within Taraba State. In the west, Taraba State is surrounded by Nasarawa State and Benue State, in the northwest, Plateau State, in the north, Bauchi State and Gombe State, in the northeast, Adamawa State, and in the east and south, Cameroon.

4. Kaduna State

Kaduna state is one of the largest states in Nigeria by land mass and stands at position four. Nigeria’s Northern region includes Kaduna State. With a total area of 46, 053 square kilometres, this state contains a significant area of land.

One of the top tertiary institutions in Nigeria, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, is located in Kaduna State. There are 36 local government units in this state.

5. Bauchi State

Bauchi stands at position five of the largest states in Nigeria by land mass. There are 20 local government areas in the entire state of Bauchi. In 1976, the division of a Northwestern state resulted in the creation of Bauchi State. Initially a part of Bauchi state, the current Gombe State separated from it in 1996. With a total area of 45,837 square miles, Bauchi State is the fifth-largest state in Nigeria by land mass.

6. Yobe State

Yobe State stands at the sixth position of the largest states in Nigeria by land mass. Borno State was split into Yobe State on the twenty-seventh day of August 1991. Yobe state has a 45,502 km2 total area of land. In lieu of that, Yobe State is home to 17 of Nigeria’s total 774 local government areas.

Read Also:  Real Estate Branding; What is it & What is it for?

There are seventeen local governments in total: Bade, Bursari, Damaturu, Geidam, Gujba, Gulani, Fika, Fune, Jakusko, Karasuwa, Machina, Nangere, Nguru, Potiskum, Tarmuwa, Yunusari, and Yusufari.

7. Zamfara State

With a total area of 39,762 km2, Zamfara is the seventh-largest state in Nigeria. Gusau serves as its capital, and it is situated in northern Nigeria. Zamfara was a part of Sokoto State up until October 1, 1996, when it was established by Sani Abacha.

The Fulani and Hausa make up the state’s two largest ethnic groups, with a variety of other ethnic groups making up the remainder of the population. Gusau (the state capital), Zugu, Anka, Kaura-Namoda, and Talata-Marafa are just a few of the 14 local government areas that make up the country.

8. Adamawa State

Adamawa State is Nigeria’s eighth-largest state by total land area. About 36,917 km2 of land is covered by it altogether. Adamawa, which is eighth on the list, has 21 local council districts with a land area of 36,917 km2. Borders with Cameroon are also shared by it.

When Gongola was in its crumbled stage, Adamawa was a part of it. It was given the name Adamawa after Taraba was separated from it in 1991. Adamawa’s administrative center is Yola. Major cities in Adamawa include, among others: Michika, Gombi, Mubi, Jimeta, and Guyuk, in addition to Yola (the state capital).

9. Kwara State

Kwara state is the ninth of the largest states in Nigeria by land mass. This state covers a land area of 36, 825 square kilometres.

It’s important to note that Kwara is the very first state on this list that is under Yoruba rule. 16 of the 774 local government areas in Nigeria are located in this state. Asa, Baruten, Edu, Ifelodun, Ilorin East, Ilorin South, Ilorin West, Irepodun, Isin, Kaiama, Moro, Offa, Oke Ero, Oyun, and Pategi are the sixteen LGAs.

Read Also:  10 Things To Note Before Renting A House In Lagos State

The North Central geographical region, commonly referred to as the Middle Belt, includes Kwara. The state’s capital is Ilorin. The major ethnic groups are Fulani, Nupe, Bariba, and Yoruba. The last three are important ethnic groups, but the Yorubas make up the majority of the Kwara tribes.

10. Kebbi State

Kebbi is the tenth-largest state in terms of land area in Nigeria, with a total land area of 36,800 km2. The majority of the inhabitants are Hausa and Fulani, and it is situated in northwest Nigeria.

Aleiro, Arewa Dandi, Argungu, Augie, Bagudo, Birnin Kebbi, Bunza, Dandi, Fakai, Gwandu, Jega, Kalgo, Koko/Besse, Maiyama, Nagasaki, Sakaba, Shanga, Suru, Danko/Wasagu, Yauri, and Zuru are the twenty-one local government areas that makeup Kebbi.

The state’s capital, Birnin Kebbi, is also one of its biggest cities and commercial hubs. Kebbi State is bordered by Sokoto State, Niger State, Zamfara State, Dosso Region in the Republic of Niger and Benin.

Final Thoughts

This piece has discussed in detail, the top ten largest states in Nigeria by land mass. Please note that the list exists in descending order, from the largest state to the tenth largest. If you have inquiries to make, please do that using the comment section below. Thank you for reading.

Read Also: States in Nigeria and their LGAS (Full List)

Similar Posts